NEP-2020: AU begins efforts to arrange agriculture college

Allahabad College (AU) would quickly arrange ‘Agriculture College’ on its campus as a part of its initiatives below the brand new Nationwide Schooling Coverage (NEP)-2020.

Efforts on this course have begun and a proposal is being ready on this regard, confirmed central varsity officers. Presently, the 134-year-old fourth oldest varsity within the nation has 4 colleges—Arts, Science, Regulation and Commerce.

If all goes based on plan, the brand new college of agriculture might effectively come up on the Hindu Hostel campus that the college has just lately acquired on a nominal lease hire of 1 each year for the following 29 years and 11 months. As soon as prepared, it might provide varied vocational programs associated to completely different facets of agriculture and related areas, ideally from 2023-24, the officers conscious of the event shared.

“The college is consistently striving to supply vocational programs and programmes deemed essential for the society. As a part of NEP-2020, the college on one hand is gearing as much as begin new built-in programs whereas additionally engaged on organising an Agriculture college. A proposal on this regard is being ready,” stated Prof Jaya Kapoor, AU PRO.

Former vice-chancellor of Banaras Hindu College (BHU), Varanasi, and former head of the division of AU’s economics division Prof GC Tripathi shared that earlier, AU had engineering and medical colleges as effectively within the form of Motilal Nehru Regional Engineering Faculty (which was earlier an related faculty of AU and is now operating as a nationwide institute of know-how) and MLN Medical Faculty, each of which later attained their separate identifies impartial of AU.

“Even the prevailing Sam Higginbottom College of Agriculture, Expertise and Sciences (SHUATS), which was arrange in 1910 was a part of the Division of Agricultural Economics and an extension of Ewing Christian Faculty, a constituent faculty of AU, stated Prof Tripathi, who’s presently the chairman, Larger Schooling Council, UP.

Supply hyperlink